Where did I come from?

Born in 1989 I am the seventh of 10 children. To say I grew up middle class would be an over statement. At one point we only had $30 a month in which to feed 9 children. I don’t know how my mom did it, but she would stretch those dollars for every penny they had. I would say my soft-spoken mother did a pretty good job a keeping all of us in line, you knew you were in trouble if she gave you “the look”. My dad was a wanderer dragging the family all over the US, moving from state to state, working odd jobs, until he landed us in Wisconsin when I was 7 years old, where he bought his own semi-truck and worked well into retirement. But growing up I didn’t know we were poor. I thought pork-n-beans, stained clothes and old used vehicles was the norm.

 

What was my education?

I was homeschooled growing up. I would see that big yellow bus go by and be glad that I wasn’t on it. Math and English was at the dinner table with mom and some books, and then what ever else we wanted to read; I love WW2 history. And Home-Ec was dad making us help him out in the barn, or building a fence. And we didn’t have to worry about being “socialized”. Growing up the Michael kids usually had a problem keeping their mouth closed, so opening them up and making friends was no problem.

 

What do I do for a living?

When I was 23, I started working in HVAC, with a contractor. I had different jobs before that, worked at a nursing home, as a tree trimmer, a security guard, a lifeguard, even a carpenter and roofer. But it wasn’t till I met a pretty girl (aka future wife) that I put my nose to the grindstone. In 2015 I started my own HVAC contracting business. And since then, the business has done well, staying out of debt and managing a few sub-contractors as needed.

I married when I was 24 years old. “Whoso findeth a wife findeth a good thing” and I have found a “good thing”. If you aren’t married, I recommend it. It will hone and humble you. My wife, Hannah, who is a talented woman in sewing and music, was raised near Iola, WI most of her life. She enjoys being a stay-at-home mother. Together we have had 3 daughters who want to go anywhere their daddy goes.

 

Why are you running for Assembly?

My life has now taken a different turn. The perverting of justice, the suppression of personal liberties, the general lack of strong servitude and humble leadership has caused me to rise up and run. And that is my goal now. To serve all 60,000 (give or take) persons of the 6th Assembly district of Wisconsin.

 

“…the righteous are bold as a lion.”

Proverbs 28:1